My Experience at Treford's Product Management Bootcamp

My Experience at Treford's Product Management Bootcamp

Part of the Product Diaries Series

I should have published this a long time ago. I got caught up in life. Apologies for that guys. This post is going to be about my experience at Treford’s Product Bootcamp.

Treford is a word-class African brand that specializes in Product-related courses. They have courses in Product Management, Product Analytics, Product Marketing and Product Design.

I participated in their three-day Product Management Masterclass which was the prelude to their Bootcamp. Not wanting to be left out and impressed by the information that was rendered to us, I paid and signed up for the bootcamp.

Treford’s Product BootCamp is not the first Product-related program I have been a part of. I was once a student of Utiva. However, due to health challenges, I could not fully focus on it and dropped out last year. So I decided to start all over again.

I was overwhelmed due to the many things that we were taught. Imposter Syndrome naturally kicked in right from the start. I also did not show up for some classes as I had to attend to some personal matters, some of which were related to my mental health.

I did go over the videos they uploaded on the website. They split everyone into different teams and also assigned us all an accountability partner. For some reason, mine never contacted me at all despite the number of emails and Slack messages I sent to him.

My group decided to create an accounting and bookkeeping app as our cases study assignment. I helped with the research aspect of things which was not that easy as I am still inexperienced in that department.

I was happy with our end result and our group came third overall in the rankings. We all celebrated this big victory and are currently considering turning said project into a reality. I guess I have to work on my coding skills now.

In the final exam, I scored 70% whereas the cutoff was 80. I was kind of bummed by this and wanted to quit. Thankfully, others talked me out of it. I retook the test and did much better and got my certificate which I shall share here:

download.png Proud PM Noises!!

I guess that is yet another thing I can call myself now besides Virtual Assistant. I am a proud Product Manager in the making.

WHAT NEXT?

That is the next question any product manager bootcamp graduate would ask themselves at this rate. I am looking for opportunities and at the same time working on a kickass portfolio. Wish me luck.or